The cough is gone

It took three weeks of prednisone at 60 mg a day, but the cough is finally gone.

I don’t think I’m jinxing myself by saying that finally my infernal involuntary cough is gone. It’s been at least a week since I’ve even had occasion to think about it, much less reach for cough drops or cough syrup. Of course I have no way of knowing what my lungs look like at this point, but they’ve got to be improving if there’s no cough and none of that crackling, wheezing “something’s loosening up in there” sound.

The pulmonologist called last Friday to see how things were going and after my good report, told me to reduce my prednisone dose to 40 mg a day. So the taper has begun. She said if the cough came back to jump back up to 50 mg or even 60 again if necessary. But so far it’s been smooth sailing.

I expect that when I see her next Monday, she’ll reduce the dose again. I think she said she’ll step it down by about 20% each time, taking 5 to 6 weeks to finally get off of it, barring any recurrences. I’ll get a detailed schedule when I see her.

Meantime I’ll be hoping the oncologist will be proven wrong in my case and that getting off the last 5-10 mg will not be a problem.

14 thoughts on “The cough is gone”

  1. Good to hear . . . just like this one:

    A man was walking home alone late one foggy night, when behind him

    he hears:

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    Walking faster, he looks back and through the fog he makes out the

    image of an upright casket banging its way down the middle of the

    street towards him.

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    Terrified, the man begins to run toward his home, the casket

    bouncing quickly behind him.

    FASTER…

    FASTER…

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    BUMP…

    He runs up to his door, fumbles with his keys, opens the door, rushes

    in, slams and locks the door behind him.

    However, the casket crashes through his door, with the lid of the

    casket clapping.

    clappity-BUMP…

    clappity-BUMP…

    clappity-BUMP…

    on his heels, the terrified man runs.

    Rushing upstairs to the bathroom, the man locks himself in. His heart

    is pounding; his head is reeling; his breath is coming in sobbing gasps.

    With a loud CRASH the casket breaks down the door.

    Bumping and clapping toward him.

    The man screams and reaches for something, anything, but all he can

    find is a bottle of cough syrup!

    Desperate, he throws the cough syrup at the casket…

    and…

    The coffin stops!

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

