Anxiety: I can always find a reason

I have just three radiation treatments to go. Friday is to be the last. And I can only cross my fingers that the now obviously red area that’s receiving the boosts won’t get too much worse in three days (more lotion! more lotion!).

Meantime, it seems like my cough may have returned last night — with a vengeance. No idea why. I’m hoping it’s only a temporary lapse of some sort.

But the real fun is coming tonight in the form of a winter storm. It’s due to arrive between 10 pm and midnight and not move out till about noon tomorrow (latest forecast just said “mid-morning”). Predictions are calling for 2-5 inches of white stuff accompanied by high winds. My appointment happens to be at 9:30 am, some 17 miles south of here. (For some reason the south side always catches the worst weather.)

I’m hoping normal rush hour traffic will have beaten the snow into submission by the time I head out, usually around 8:30. But I’m thinking an earlier start would be wise tomorrow. I’m a good driver, have a car with AWD, and can navigate through most anything if I have to (that doesn’t mean I like it). But all those other drivers out there … hoo boy.

You see, for a number of years now I’ve been able to blithely ignore inclement weather. I’ve had no reason to go out in anything but ideal driving conditions. So I admit to being apprehensive about the morning drive tomorrow. The forecasts could be wrong, one way or the other. Less snow, more snow, no snow. The roads could be icy under a lot of snow, or cleared by the traffic before I ever leave the house.

Worry, worry, worry. If you’ve got some worrying that needs doing, send it my way. I’m an expert, with years of experience..

14 thoughts on “Anxiety: I can always find a reason

  1. disperser Tuesday, November 10, 2015 / 6:19 pm MDT

    We’re staying home. Despite 30+ years of Michigan winters, I’m like you. I really don’t trust Colorado drivers. Good luck with your trip.

    • PiedType Tuesday, November 10, 2015 / 6:24 pm MDT

      Thank you. I really, really don’t want to miss a treatment because I’ve heard it lessens the effectiveness of the entire regimen. Besides, I have my heart set on being done Friday. Don’t know what it is with Colorado drivers. You’d think they’d know how to drive in snow.

  2. blooper0223 Tuesday, November 10, 2015 / 7:49 pm MDT

    I’ll send positive thoughts, not worries, your way. Safe travels and best of luck. I know exactly what you mean about other drivers … one drop of precipitation here turns Arkansas drivers into spastic Kermits.
    And now I have the urge to watch The Muppets …

    • PiedType Tuesday, November 10, 2015 / 8:40 pm MDT

      Yep, it’s always those other drivers who cause all the problems, isn’t it?

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 7:00 am MDT

    All those frantic morning commuters are going to have it all fixed for you, hopefully. Sigh. Stress isn’t good for recovery – and this time the pretty I-don’t-have-to-get-out-in-it-so-I-can-enjoy-it white stuff isn’t such fun.
    You think those drivers are bad? You should see Dallas when winter storms hit. In Houston they usually shut everything down as much as possible since most people born here have no idea how to manage it…water, maybe, ice and snow, no way.
    Good idea to allow extra time – and stay as far away as other drivers!
    (It is weird how one particular area always gets different/worse weather than other parts of a city…tall buildings, yep, they change the weather patterns HA HA)

      • PiedType Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 7:09 am MDT

        Those headers rotate automatically. Keep clicking on them or refreshing the page and you can see the others.

        • philosophermouseofthehedge Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 8:09 am MDT

          I guess I just hadn’t seen that one – or it just didn’t register at the time. (Short attention span..and dog interruptions)

    • PiedType Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 7:08 am MDT

      I got up early and from what I can see outside and on TV, the streets are wet, not snowy, and traffic seems to be moving at its usual rate. They say the storm is already moving out onto the plains, so it should be improving here from now on.

      I think the south side of the metro gets worse weather — more snow, etc. — because it’s higher ground. Denver is in a sort of bowl and the high sides are on the south and west.

      • philosophermouseofthehedge Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 8:12 am MDT

        I didn’t realize the south was high, too – but DUH as much as we’ve driven it. The mountains just get all the attention.
        That must be the storm we are expecting. Both dogs are eagerly waiting another cool spell…I will need steel toed boots.

  4. Margie Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 8:56 am MDT

    Hope the drive isn’t too hair raising!

    • PiedType Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 10:51 am MDT

      It turned out to be one of my easier drives. Schools were closed because of either the snow or the holiday, lots of businesses were closed, and apparently all the road crews got the day off.

      • zenzalei Wednesday, November 11, 2015 / 11:49 pm MDT

        Whew! Glad to hear that. Fingers crossed for things things to go smoothly on Friday.

        • PiedType Thursday, November 12, 2015 / 12:39 pm MDT

          Next storm isn’t due in until Monday, so I’m optimistic.

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

