I’ve never really liked pink

It’s October, my favorite month of the year and also Breast Cancer Awareness Month. But don’t hold your breath waiting for me to get all excited about pink ribbons and races for the cure and all that. The “pinkwashing” of America has bothered me for some time, first because it has given many people the mistaken impression that breast cancer is the number one killer of women. It isn’t. Heart disease is.

Then there was the Susan G. Komen flap in 2012, which destroyed forever my faith in that organization. And in the wake of that came my increasing awareness of the pathetic percentage of funds collected that actually go to breast cancer research. Not just of Komen’s funds, only 20% of which go to research, but of all the other organizations and products that would have you believe your support or purchase helps fund breast cancer research. Of the money spent on pink NFL merchandise, for example, only 8% goes to research.

In many, many cases, merchandise you see featuring pink breast cancer ribbons is nothing more than a publicity gimmick for the manufacturer. Little if any of the money they make ever goes to breast cancer research.

I won’t bore you with statistics or a long harangue about this; others have tackled the subject in depth. Just consider that I’m currently undergoing treatment for breast cancer — and it doesn’t change my thinking in the least.

By all means, support breast cancer research. For yourself and your loved ones. But please make sure the money you spend or donate goes to an organization that will actually put the majority of it into cancer research and not its executives’ pockets or elsewhere. In other words, as Breast Cancer Action puts it, “Think before you pink.”

4 thoughts on “I’ve never really liked pink

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge Sunday, October 04, 2015 / 7:27 am MDT

    Not a pink as a favorite color person. Never. Reminds me of PeptoBismol. Wretched.
    I do not like all the “pink” this and “pink” that. It’s mostly marketing by companies to sell product. If anyone/company really cares, give all the money to a research organization or hospital. Cheap trinkets – bah. Tend to avoid companies that push that stuff.
    Perfect post

    • PiedType Sunday, October 04, 2015 / 1:16 pm MDT

      I avoid that stuff too. Won’t buy anything with pink ribbon promotion on it. And I just don’t like pale pink — to me it says either “little girl” or “little old grandmother” and I don’t think of myself as either. A good vibrant fuschia is fine; it’s like a whole different color. But yes, the whole “jump on the pink bandwagon” thing makes me ill. Opportunists that care nothing about breast cancer research.

  2. zenzalei Monday, October 19, 2015 / 6:30 pm MDT

    The latest offense was No-Bra Day, with every tart imaginable taking topless photos on social media. Breast cupping, strategic arm placement, naked backs, and enough sexualization of a life-threatening disease to offend any reasonable person who understands exactly what cancer is.

    • PiedType Monday, October 19, 2015 / 7:26 pm MDT

      I’m sure glad I missed that. But apparently the topless idea is catching on. Some women in Fort Collins, north of here, are trying to get an ordinance passed that will make it legal for women to go topless anywhere in town. I’m getting way too old for what our society is coming to.

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

