Speaking of ‘water weight’

Depending on the treatment a cancer patient has received, changes in water weight, or fluid retained in the body, can be significant.

Well, now I have a reason (excuse?) for feeling so tired in the last few weeks. As the doctor explained a week ago, my edema was the result of all the fluid infusions I’d had in the preceding weeks. His observation: I just needed time to “pee it all out.”

At the time my weight, recorded midday when I was fully clothed, was 204 pounds. I didn’t think much about it. It was only 1-3 pounds more than what they usually record under similar circumstances. Most women I know can vary a pound or two from day to day, just from fluctuations in water weight.

So I’ve spent a week resting, relaxing, eating a lot, walking a little, and yes, peeing a lot. Annoying, really, having to get up during the night so much more than usual. But things are almost back to normal.

Still, I was unprepared for what my bathroom scale said this morning. I didn’t make a note of my weight the last time I checked it, but I think it was maybe 200-201 a week ago. It’s always been a few pounds less than at the doctor’s office (scales vary, and at home I always weigh without clothes).

Anyway, this morning my weight was 191. So 10 pounds of water, more or less, gone. No wonder I felt so weak, slow, and clumsy! Not that I’m skipping around now feeling light as a feather but it certainly helps to know I’m hauling 10 pounds less up the stairs or down the hall.

9 thoughts on “Speaking of ‘water weight’”

  1. When wife Mollie was in hospital last week with afib, her wrists, legs and ankles were all swollen like sausages. She weighed 132. This week the swelling is all gone. Weight 122, which is about her normal. It is amazing. She is still having pulse swings, down into the 40’s. You are not alone in having ills. 😦

    1. Oh Jim, I’m so sorry to hear Mollie was in the hospital, but glad she’s home now and hope things stabilize quickly. I imagine afib would be a very scary thing for both of you. Give her my best. I’ll be thinking about you both.

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

