Falling hair no more

It’s done. I went to the beauty shop today and got a buzz cut. A #2, or a quarter of an inch long. I didn’t look while she was doing it, but neither did I cry when it was done. (Maybe later; who knows.) It was more just … interesting. Who (or what) is that person in the mirror? … Wow, that’s strange looking. … At least I don’t have a lumpy or odd-shaped head. … Hmm, earrings help a lot. … The fuzz feels nice and soft. And it’s short enough to stop my compulsive pulling of hair to see how much is coming out.

The fuzz, of course, will continue to come out until it’s all gone, or at least done with whatever it’s going to do. But the tiny bits won’t be anything like the gray hairs I’ve been picking off my shirts. There was a time when I knew those hairs belonged to the cat. For the last few days, I haven’t been sure.

I was amused to read today that some women use sticky lint rollers to get the loosening buzzed hairs off their scalps. Neat way to deal with the problem. Great, now instead of pulling hair, I’ll be rolling to see how much comes off …

The buzz was a must-have after my shower yesterday. I kept having to wipe hair off my face — gross — and watch hair run the length of the tub and down the drain. Balding men may be used to that. I’m not. I might see a lone hair from an average shower. Thought I’d finally rinsed it all away but after exiting the tub and pulling up the mat, I was still seeing hair. Ick.

Once was more than enough. As soon as I was dressed, I made an appointment for the buzz cut.

18 thoughts on “Falling hair no more

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 8:29 pm MDT

    That shower – double ugh. Good call. The lint roller gave me a chuckle . Strange, but that SNL movie about the Conehead family was on last night. You know, hairless isn’t a bad look – your eyes and face show up more. (At one point in the movie it was Halloween and the daughter wore one of those tall princess cones with the scarf flowing out the top. All sorts of possibilities if it’s cool enough and you’re silly enough…though not sure about Daniel Boone’s fur hat…
    Anyway, you are seriously reinventing yourself. HUGS and cheers

    • PiedType Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 8:45 pm MDT

      Yep, I thought the lint roller was hilarious … and a great idea too. I appreciate the encouragement, but hairless isn’t a great look on a fat old woman, though I’ll admit it’s sometimes really stunning on young, attractive women. Makeup would help but I haven’t worn any in years. As for hats, etc. … I am never silly in public. Of course, princess hats are serious business, as my granddaughter will tell you. And Daniel Boone may get his chance next winter.

      • philosophermouseofthehedge Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 9:19 pm MDT

        I’m avoiding mirrors pretty much anyway as I don’t recognize that old person looking at me…I’ll just wander around oblivious to the truth. Makeup on me always looks like a kid who was playing in their mom’s makeup kit…tinted sunblock…and avoiding mirrors….maybe I’ll just claim to be a vampire or something.
        Winter may offer some great possibilities. (low of 80 at night…ugh time of year)
        Hang in there

        • PiedType Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 11:23 pm MDT

          I’m hangin’

        • philosophermouseofthehedge Friday, July 10, 2015 / 8:13 am MDT

          Don’t forget to vote for Boulder in 10 best urban trails! …unless it brings even more people….

        • PiedType Friday, July 10, 2015 / 10:43 am MDT

          I’ve wished for years I could make this entire area a deep dark secret from the rest of the world. Unfortunately, the secret is out.

        • philosophermouseofthehedge Friday, July 10, 2015 / 10:57 am MDT

          Exactly what I thought, too. But hey, there’s hope – who reads any more?

        • disperser Friday, July 10, 2015 / 11:21 am MDT

          Cheer up . . . not everyone wants to move to Boulder.

        • PiedType Friday, July 10, 2015 / 11:33 am MDT

          These days, few can afford it.

        • disperser Friday, July 10, 2015 / 11:38 am MDT

          Not a matter of price . . .

        • PiedType Friday, July 10, 2015 / 11:44 am MDT

          I understand not everyone wants to move to a notoriously liberal college town. But among those who would like to move there, the cost of housing is necessarily a factor.

  2. disperser Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 9:15 pm MDT

    My hair care regimen has been the same for the past 20 years or so . . . use a #1 attachment on the razor and cut. Wait 4-5 weeks and repeat. I started it before I began to go bald, and the plan is to go even shorter and keep it short as I get balder.

    No comb-over, comb-front, comb-back for me.

    And yes, it’s liberating not having one’s self-image tied to dead protein. What is amazing, though, how hair can go from being “important” and “beautiful” when on someone’s head to “ugh, gross” and “ick” once it’s no longer attached to anything.

    As near as I know, it’s the same hair.

    • PiedType Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 11:22 pm MDT

      I applaud your regimen. I think my son intends to do much the same in the near future. All the combovers, etc., look awful and don’t fool anyone.

      Although I feel liberated from the threat of falling hair, I’ve also given up the last pretense of being a normal, healthy person. Even if I’m feeling great, I won’t be able to pass for healthy anymore. Don’t think I’m going to like that. Or maybe I just won’t care. Too early to say.

    • disperser Thursday, July 09, 2015 / 11:48 pm MDT

      Hmm . . . not sure a buzz-cut equates to not looking healthy any more than a head of hair qualifies one as “looking normal”. As an example, I give you Donald Trump.

      I will admit one is more likely to see a man with a buzz cut or even shaved head, but that’s just giving in to the lies of shampoo manufacturers and the pressure of a society obsessed with how one looks. Women can instantly liberate a portion of themselves by not succumbing to the arbitrary and always-changing pressures of society when it comes to their personal appearance.

      • PiedType Friday, July 10, 2015 / 12:06 am MDT

        LOL. Love your example. I just feel buzz cuts are so uncommon among women that unless the woman is obviously trying to make some sort of dramatic fashion statement, the assumption will likely be that she’s a cancer patient. Not that a lot of the hats and caps don’t send the same message. But I’ve never done this before, so it will take me a while to work out my attitude and approach.

  3. philosophermouseofthehedge Friday, July 17, 2015 / 2:05 pm MDT

    Hey not sure about softness, but attitude is anything but soft with there: (love the MardiGras, dreadlocks, and if only the Mohawk was a better color….https://www.flairhair.com/
    Some of us love Boulder for it’s beauty and location near other mountain destinations – modern yet the perfect mts. and some of us have know it long long long before the trendy college (especially for CA students) and all the fancy buildings – the prices are insane, though (a little like Austin)…Then there’s their rabidness about clearing the sidewalks of snow instantly or the nasty notes and fines)

    • PiedType Friday, July 17, 2015 / 5:16 pm MDT

      Uh oh, I spy a Seahawks hat in there. I might be tempted to get it for my son. One of those hats made the rounds among the men in the family a few years ago and was good for a lot of laughs.

      • philosophermouseofthehedge Friday, July 17, 2015 / 5:26 pm MDT

        My husband stumble over these recently and thought they were cool…maybe with a softer cap under it during the winter? (Looking at possible places near Loveland that aren’t in a concrete.subdivision…we’ll see. Must have internet)

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

