About that hair loss on the 14th day …

This morning I noted that 14 days ago today I had my first chemo treatment. And I pointed out that many, many sources said the resulting hair loss would begin on Day 14. I also said that my hair did not yet appear to be doing anything abnormal.

But that, you see, was this morning. 14 days ago this morning I was just beginning some preliminary testing at the cancer center. I’d not yet started the chemo.

But an hour or two ago (about 5 pm)  — 14 days since I finished the first chemo treatment — I discovered a light tug on the back of my head could produce 10, 15, or 20 hairs instead of just 1 or 2 or none.

Accurate almost to the hour! I find that fascinating — in an objective scientific sort of way.

I’m sure I’ll be less amused in another day or two. (My hairdresser has been alerted and is waiting for my call.) Meanwhile, I should probably do as my son says and stop pulling out hair just so I can gawk at how much comes out. No sense hurrying the process.

9 thoughts on “About that hair loss on the 14th day …

  1. philosophermouseofthehedge Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 7:10 pm MDT

    (Oddly that is rather interesting…I’d probably be doing the same thing…never could stop scratching mosquito bites either as a kid…drove my mother nuts)

    • PiedType Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 7:58 pm MDT

      It’s hard not to be curious about this odd thing that’s happening to me. At the moment, more seems to be coming off the back of my head than off the top or front. Of course I wouldn’t know that if I hadn’t gone around pulling at hair in different spots … Really need to stop now …

      • philosophermouseofthehedge Wednesday, July 08, 2015 / 6:40 am MDT

        When you have a curious mind, it’s hard not to experiment, but maybe this one time take the sit back and observe approach. (Being able to laugh is what keep so many sane in difficult situations…and so I’ll try to not be nuts about getting unsubscribed to so many blogs…I have to keep searching for yours and others – so late in reading at times)

  2. blooper0223 Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 7:15 pm MDT

    Bestill your curiosity! And yet, that’s probably what I’d do … I already do with my eyelashes … nervous tic 😉

    • PiedType Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 8:07 pm MDT

      I am, of course, likely to lose my brows and lashes too. I’m pretty much down to demi brows already. The outer halves, always shaped to be thinner, have all but disappeared since they turned gray. Sure gonna miss the lashes if they go. I quit wearing makeup years ago, but my meager lashes still add a hint of color.

  3. IzaakMak Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 7:40 pm MDT

    With so many relatives who’ve gone bald, I’ve been compulsively checking for loose hairs for years. I can imagine myself doing it constantly if I were in your shoes. Hang in there my friend…

    • PiedType Tuesday, July 07, 2015 / 8:22 pm MDT

      Well at least I’ve been told it will grow back, something balding men can’t count on. The world is used to and accepting of balding or bald men. Bald women are a real anomaly, and for an introvert, being an anomaly is going to be … difficult. Hopefully it will be offset by the new attitude I’m trying to cultivate: hey, I’m an old woman and frankly I don’t give a damn what you think.

      • IzaakMak Wednesday, July 08, 2015 / 5:57 am MDT

        I’d like to cultivate a similar attitude. I wonder if they teach classes? 😉

        • PiedType Wednesday, July 08, 2015 / 8:47 am MDT

          I don’t think you meet the age requirement yet. 😉

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

