It was only a matter of time

sweetdreams cap
“Sweet Dreams” cap

Tastes vary, of course, but I was beyond pleased when this cap arrived this afternoon. Very lightweight and comfy, intended as a sleep cap but I won’t be confining it to the bedroom. Indeed I’m pretty close to ordering several more in other colors (the first one is ivory).

The first two hats I got had me in tears. This one almost made me smile. Even my grandson gave it a thumbs up. Maybe the difference is that hats seem like outdoor wear. Caps seem like more casual indoor wear. They’re simpler, less fussy. I think, too, with this one, I was influenced by the fact that the model is an older woman. I think the catalogs would be wise to incorporate a much larger percentage of older women.

Wouldn’t be fair to include the picture without telling you where I got it: Hats, Scarves, and More. The cap arrived carefully wrapped in white tissue paper with a blue satin ribbon and a personally handwritten note from the owner Nicki thanking me for my order and wishing me sweet dreams and a good outcome. All that arrived just when I really needed it.

I know I’ll be shopping there more in the future, if only to get more colors of this hat. And because first impressions like I got from this place mean a lot to me.

P.S. June 21, 2015: Received the assorted bandana/kerchiefs/cap items that were my second order from tlc. Failure again. Didn’t like any of them and they’ll be returned. Part of the problem was quality. All were imports from India or Pakistan. I understand that perhaps the ACS is trying to offer the most affordable products they can, and they do seem to be generally less expensive than competitors. In contrast, where I’ve noticed, most items from Hats, Scarves, and More seem to be made in the USA. I noticed one from Canada. I think quality shows and I prefer to buy USA-made products when I can. I’ve ordered two more items from Hats, Scarves, and More and hope I like them as well as I liked the first.

 

4 thoughts on “It was only a matter of time

  1. blooper0223 Thursday, June 18, 2015 / 6:27 am MDT

    Very stylish and a good choice, especially for summer!

    • PiedType Thursday, June 18, 2015 / 8:47 am MDT

      Depending on what the kerchief/bandana types look like when they arrive, I could end up with quite a few of this type. Just simple knit caps (for lack of a better term). Maybe because they most nearly mimic the minimalist pixie-ish hairstyle I usually wear.

  2. Katie Talbot Thursday, June 18, 2015 / 7:26 am MDT

    I love it!! Thanks so much for mentioning this place. I will be her next customer. And I totally agree with you that we need a greater percentage of older women models. I have been urging this concept on retailers for a number of years now, so far to no avail. But perhaps if we all emailed them, they would start to get the message eventually.
    Thanks again for this blog, I am learning so much from it.

    • PiedType Thursday, June 18, 2015 / 8:40 am MDT

      Considering how many female cancer patients are older women, you’d think older models would be a no-brainer. Anything looks good on a flirty 20-something with full make-up, young skin, etc. They also need to include more angles, as this one did — front, side, back. Straight on is probably the least flattering angle. I’d order a few more of these right now but want to look around a bit more. Don’t necessarily want all the same kind.

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

