One small lemonade, please

I hopped on the scales this morning, wondering what my weight might be. (Needing every advantage, I always weigh first thing in the morning, naked, before consuming anything.) About two weeks ago, I noticed I’d lost 5 pounds since my diagnosis 5 weeks ago and wanted to see if the weight had stayed off. It was a tiny bright spot that I didn’t expect to last. (I’ve always assumed the first 5 pounds is water weight, normal fluctuation, etc.)

Surprise. Not only did it last, but I’m now down 10 pounds! That weight and more has needed to come off for a long time, and this time I haven’t even been trying. In fact, I’d swear that except for the first 2 or 3 days post op, I’ve been eating the same as always.

Certainly makes “wear loose, comfortable clothing” easy to do, since that’s my normal style anyway. But my already loose, comfortable pants are beginning to resemble parachute pants. … groan … Except for a few specialty items, I’d not planned on buying new clothes. I hate clothes shopping!

Yes, I will add this to my list of things to mention to the doctor on the 9th. But I’ve got a lot of leeway before weight loss becomes a serious concern.

16 thoughts on “One small lemonade, please

  1. disperser Friday, May 29, 2015 / 2:45 pm MDT

    Why did this come to mind when you mentioned parachute pants?

    • PiedType Friday, May 29, 2015 / 4:44 pm MDT

      Probably for the same reason I thought of it. But I did a little research and one source noted that MC is wearing harem pants, whereas parachute pants don’t have the dropped crotch.

      • disperser Friday, May 29, 2015 / 4:47 pm MDT

        Tomato, tomatoes, parachute, harem . . . just get to dancing and we’ll sort it out later.

        • PiedType Friday, May 29, 2015 / 5:05 pm MDT

          LOL. I could probably use a little dancing right now.

  2. disperser Friday, May 29, 2015 / 2:47 pm MDT

    Seriously, unexplained rapid weight loss ==>> not usually a good thing. Did you check with anyone? Was it expected?

    • PiedType Friday, May 29, 2015 / 5:04 pm MDT

      That’s why I plan to mention it to the doctor on the 9th and start tracking it more closely. I’m pretty sure it can be attributed to anxiety, which can cause a loss of appetite. Not uncommon after a cancer diagnosis. A safe rate of loss for a diet is 2 lbs a week and I could stand to lose 40-50 lbs., so this might be a bit of a blessing in disguise. In any case, I’ve added it to my list of things I want to be sure to mention.

      • disperser Friday, May 29, 2015 / 5:24 pm MDT

        Except you say you’ve not altered your eating habits. Anyway, you’ll be asking.

        • PiedType Friday, May 29, 2015 / 5:41 pm MDT

          I’ve not consciously altered my habits. But I suppose I could be eating a bit less overall without realizing it. Maybe just fewer snacks. If the doctor is concerned, I can always start logging my intake.

  3. zenzalei Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 1:28 am MDT

    My guess is it’s stress. I always lose weight when I’m uber stressed, and you, my friend, are dealing with a lot of stress.

    • PiedType Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 9:50 am MDT

      That’s my guess. Some combo of stress/anxiety/depression. I seem to recall once years ago losing a lot of weight (maybe 30 lbs?) when I was really depressed about something.

  4. Jim Wheeler Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 8:27 am MDT

    I’m finding, late in life, that weight control is more complex than I thought. Ten years ago, my 6′ 2″ frame was loaded to about 205 pounds, so I embarked on a process of intake control and exercise. As of last December I was maintaining about 178 lbs. Then, in January I caught some kind of bug. I ran a low-grade fever, felt general malaise, and lost my appetite. After three weeks I was down to 168! The weight has stayed off with no effort on my part. It was 167 last Saturday. It’s kind of scary when stuff goes on that you don’t control and I would never have anticipated this one.

    • PiedType Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 10:00 am MDT

      Well, if this loss levels off at some nice number and I can maintain it, I’ll celebrate. I started this little venture at 5’8″, 207 lbs and had been that size for about 5 years. Within reason, I welcome any weight loss (especially when it requires no thought on my part).

      • Jim Wheeler Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 11:56 am MDT

        Right. This morning I weighed 168, so I’ve gained a pound a week for two weeks. Now I’m back to choosing the fruit cup instead of the mashed potatoes. 😦

        • PiedType Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 12:28 pm MDT

          Aww, I do love my taters. Any form. The staff of life.

        • Jim Wheeler Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 12:30 pm MDT

          😆 Me too, and a little gravy makes it even nicer.

        • PiedType Saturday, May 30, 2015 / 1:42 pm MDT

          Better be lots of butter under that gravy!

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

