A belated thank you

A thank you and apology to those who sent words of support last week despite my having closed comments.

This is a very belated thank you to all the people who wrote last week (you know who you are) to express your support and concern after I first reported my diagnosis. The virtual hugs coming from all over the country were about as real as it gets for someone who lives alone and through her computer. I really need to get out more (and not just for doctor appointments). But I’ve been saying that for years.

Anyway, thanks everybody. Sorry I closed the comments and forced you to find other ways to communicate, but I just couldn’t handle any discussion at the time. My plan is to keep comments open here. I suppose that could change depending on how things go. When I get tense and anxious I also get terribly irritable and impatient. But that did come in handy this weekend. I finally got pissed enough to call and fire the guy who’s been doing my yard for five years and had not yet shown up or called this year (despite several messages I left for him) — a good three weeks after everyone else on the block had started mowing.

Of course that leaves me totally up a creek for a mowing service. But that call sure felt good.

4 thoughts on “A belated thank you”

  1. I know how you feel, especially with the irritable and impatient part.

    I had so wanted to email you last week, but knowing how raw everything is when you get a diagnosis like that, I didn’t want to overload you. Rest assured, though, that I was thinking of you. You’ve always got a shoulder in Arkansas.

    1. Aww, thanks. I could feel those warm thoughts even without a note. And yes, “raw” is a colossal understatement. Unlike anything I’ve ever experienced. Much better now, at least for the moment. It comes and goes. That’s normal, I suppose.

"You don’t have to say everything to say something." ~Beth Moore

